An unusual post for once in a while… we have a situation here at FXstreet.com and I need your advise.
There is a Forex Portal out there that it is copying everything we do. It has been doing it for years and I’m afraid they will keep doing it for many years to come.
We have a list of brokers, they have list of brokers, we add brokers logos at the bottom of the pages, they add them too, we have live webinars, same there with nearly only the same speakers, we launch a CAG, voila there is one there too, we publish a report from a new contributor, soon that report is there too…… And I’m not entering into copying sections like fundamental, technical, calendar, news…. as I consider any Forex portal must have those sections to really get a broad picture of the market situation and get the visitors well updated.
1. Just ignore them as we have been doing since the beginning
2. Take the issue to our lawyers and start a legal process for copying
3. Take actions to start differentiating ourselves from them, like giving all those that contribute with their research/knowledge to both sites to choose one or the other
So far, I’ve always followed option one…., now I’m starting to be fed up of this situation and I would be prone to go for option 3.
What would you do if you were in my shoes?
Your help will be much appreciated
Thanks
Francesc Riverola,

Step 1:
contact the website owner and let them clearly know that you’re not happy with copyright violation and will take appropriate measures to protect your rights.
Indicate that among other measures you’ll be contacting Search engines asking to ban the website form the search.
Step 2: should you find no reacting and/or that stolen content is ranking higher than yours in Google search, for example; contact Google and describe the matter. You should be able to see your website ranking as the owner of the content, e.g. on the first place soon.
Forgot to add one more step:
check where the website is hosted. File a DMCA complaint with their hoster. Chances are high, the entire website will be shut down until stolen content is removed.
Thanks Ed for the feed-back!
I think I found the website
Just ignore them and don’t visit their website.
Like you l think some form of Option 3 is the answer.You are the leading portal and the most prestigious,the one most contributors want to be associated with.If you are asking them to “give up” the other site,perhaps you need to give them something unique in return,more than just exposure.Redevelop the Premium Service by doing chargable mini-courses at affordable prices in partnership with key contibutors might be one idea.Or maybe just “us or them, you choose” would be enough!We all know which they would choose!
Yours is a great site,an invaluable tool with immense integrity and great contributors;thank you,you are greatly appreciated and at the end of the day,despite the lower integrity of your copier,imitation is the sincerest form of flattery as they say!
Personally I would not do anything. The fact that they are copying just proves the fact that your work must be ‘the best’. Moreover by sueing etc. the only thing you will achieve is giving them publicity, nothing else. Every trader knows that your site is just the best. Why would we look elsewhere if we can find good general and unbiased info on all aspects of trading with the greatest variety of trading experts. Just my idea. Rudy/ Cape Town
Dear Rudy and Michael
I feel flattered with your comments
THANKS!
You made my day already
And thanks for your suggestions… You definitively have a point
I’ll think about it
Francesc, is the culprit forexpros.com or someone else? It would help to clear the air of unnecessary speculation.
Are you talking about Forexpros?
Dear Javier
My intention was not to generate speculation about the site that copies everything we do. I was just sharing with my readers my distress about these guys and looking for advise.
A lot of people has contacted me upon my post and everyone has pointed out to the same site, so it seems pretty obvious about who I was referring to.
Unfortunately, I can’t confirm your suspicious as the name of the copier is not the issue here.
Thanks
I guess there’s not much you can do as i suppose they do not “steal” your content but your site ideas.
Wim
That is exactly what is happening
Francesc
As Wim states it is clearly the idea’s and the overall business model that they are copying and with the suspected firm being registered in the BVI, founders/developers residing in Israel - you have a number of obstacles proving the copyright violation and then getting them to court.
You are clearly in the same position as most first to market players - I’m sure Henry Ford feels your pain. But would your claims of copy right violation hold for Mr. Ford? A steering wheel, 4 wheels and doors… I think not.
As a industry participant and observer I am confident when I say:
1. Google delivers you the lions share of search traffic.
2. You have built the industry’s number one portal.
3. No matter which industry you go to you will always have competition and that competition will keep you on your toes ensuring that you inovate and develop your offering.
4. Trying to go to court will simply result with your attorneys making a fortune that you could invest far more productively.
Life is too short to worry about this - enjoy what you have built and dont forget what the British say “Imitation: The Sincerest Form of Flattery”
How about a combination of both 2 and 3? Prove you are a better service and if they are illegally copying you, make sure they know it’s not acceptable.
Bummer Francesc, anyway, your site is still the best and i hope you will continue to provide top notch content.
I did not know about this British saying… very sharp
Just ignor them and focus at where you are going, as far as we the readers are concern we know the best and all the best is here.